
Tennessee Department of Safety is the issuing authority. 
Handgun Carry Permit Issuance 

1150 Foster Avenue 
Nashville, TN 37249 

Phone: (615) 251-8590 
Fax: (615) 532-3056 

 
In October of 1996, the Department of Safety began issuing handgun 

   carry permits pursuant to Public Chapter 905. Previous to this change, 
local sheriff's offices issued handgun carry permits. Since October 1996, 

the Department of Safety has issued more than 165,000 handgun carry permits. 
Everything you need to know about the process can be found at the following website: 

http://www.tn.gov/safety/handgunmain.shtml 
 

Steps to obtain a Hand Gun Permit with the State of Tennessee: 
1. Complete an eight-hour training course approved by the state. 
2. After completion of the training course you may complete the state application. This 
    application can be downloaded from the website or go to the local driver testing station. 
3. You will be given the information for your fingerprints when you pay the $115.00 fee. 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION: 
The citizens of the State of Tennessee have the right to keep and bear 
arms for their common defense; but the General Assembly has the power, 
by law, to regulate the wearing of arms with a view to prevent crime. Any 
resident of Tennessee who has reached twenty-one (21) years of age may 
apply to the Department of Safety for a handgun permit. If the applicant is 
not prohibited from purchasing or possessing a firearm in this state 
pursuant to T.C.A. Cod 39-17-316 or 39-17-1307(b), 18 U.S.C. 9 (g) or 
any other state or federal law and the applicant otherwise meets all of the 
requirements, the department shall issue a permit to the applicant. 

 Permit will be valid for four (4) years from date of issue. 
 The permit shall entitle the permittee to carry any handgun - which the 

permittee legally owns or possesses. 
 The permittee shall have the permit in their immediate possession at all times 

when carrying a handgun and shall display the permit on demand of a law 
enforcement officer. 

 
NOTE:  
Applicant should consult Title 39, Chapter 17, Part 13 of the T.C.A. Codes for information on 
locations where handguns are prohibited. Even though a person is authorized to possess or carry a 
firearm pursuant to T.C.A. 39-17-1315 or 39-17-1351 and has a permit, there are some restrictions as 
to where firearms may be carried. For more information, visit the General Assembly's website at 
www.legislature.state.tn.us, click on legislation and then Tennessee Code. 
 
PROCESSING: 

 Applications are received and reviewed in the Handgun Carry Permit Office. 
 Proper documentation is forwarded to three (3) different agencies: (TBI, FBI, 

County Sheriff). 
 Upon a name search approval from TBI, the permit can be issued within ninety 

(90) days from date of application. 



 Upon issuance, the handgun carry permit will be mailed to the applicant. 
 Incomplete applications cannot be processed. 
 FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE. 
 Original Application = $115.00 
 Renewal Application = $50.00 
 Duplicate Application = $5.00 
 Training Course = $50.00 

 
Effective July 1, 2005, all new handgun permit applicants must 
provide proof of U.S. Citizenship or Lawful Permanent Residency unless 
such applicant has already provided this proof and it is documented 
on their driver license record. 
Permit will be valid for four (4) years & covers any legal handgun(s). 
The cost of the permit is $115.00; payable to the Tennessee Department Of Safety at the time the 
application is processed. Permit must be in possession of the holder when carrying a handgun and to be 
displayed on demand of an Officer of the law. 
 
Where to go and what to do: 
You must complete a Tennessee Department of Safety Handgun Permit Application. 
The application is available at any Tennessee Department of Safety Drivers License Testing Station or on 
the website at: http://www.tennessee.gov/safety/handgunmain.htm 
You must complete a Tennessee Department of Safety approved course in firearms safety training, from 
a certified firearms instructor and school, approved and certified by the Tennessee Department of 
Safety to teach the Tennessee Department of Safety Handgun Permit Course. 
 
Application must be made within six (6) months of the date of issuance of the Certificate of 
Training. After the six (6) month time period has passed without the handgun permit application 
process, the Certificate of Training is null and void. Another Handgun Permit Firearms Safety Training 
Course shall have to be taken to obtain a new Certificate of Training. 
 
Dickson County Sheriff's Office Handgun Permit Firearms Safety School #1-22-1 is certified by the 
Tennessee Department of Safety. We have two Firearms Instructors certified by the Tennessee 
Department of Safety, Sergeant David Cook and Deputy Kenneth Monzon. These instructors are also 
certified firearms instructors through the Tennessee Peace Officers Standards and Training Commission 
(P.O.S.T.). This course is conducted in one (1), eight (8) hour day beginning at 9am at the range in 
Dickson located at 198 Peeler Drive behind Buckner Park.  
 
2015 Handgun Carry Permit: 8 Hours per class: 
  

JAN 31, MAR 7, APR 18, MAY 23, JUL 4, AUG 8, SEP 12, OCT 24, NOV 28. 
 
The class starts promptly at 9:00 AM will end at 6:00 PM the same day. The class is broken into two 
sessions, morning (classroom) & (range/practical). A written thirty question test will be administered and 
scored after completion of the morning session. A score of seventy percent or above is required to pass. 
There will be a one hour break for lunch and afterward the class will reassemble at the range for the range 
session. During the (practical) afternoon session the participants shall fire fifty rounds at one stationary, 
silhouette target (B-29) for qualification. The target will be scored and a score of seventy percent (70%) 
or above is required to pass. You will fire from the 3, 5 & 7 yard line.  
 



The cost of the Dickson County Sheriff's Office Handgun Permit Firearms Safety School #1-22-1 class is 
$50.00, to be paid prior to the day of class. No personal checks accepted. Payment may be made with: 
Cash, Cashier's Check or Money Order at the Dickson County Sheriff's Administration Office: 140 
County Jail Road, Charlotte. The fee is non-refundable.  
 
Items needed for the HGPT class:  
Classroom Session: Pencil & paper,   
DO NOT BRING YOUR WEAPON OR ANY AMMUNITION INTO THE CLASSROOM.  
Leave your weapon and ammunition secured in your vehicle. 
Range Session: Handgun - with the capability of firing five rounds without reloading. Fifty rounds of 
ammunition for your handgun. An additional fifty (50) or One-hundred (100) rounds Is Optional, in the 
event of failing.  
 
NO RELOADS/ COMMERCIAL FACTORY AMMUNITION ONLY. 
 
Eye protection may be prescription glasses, safety or shooting glasses. NO SUNGLASSES. Ear 
protection - muffs or plugs 
Strong side (right or left-handed) belt holster only, used to secure the handgun.  
For further information concerning the handgun permit application process and/or the Dickson County 
Sheriff's Office Handgun Permit Firearms Safety School Classes. Call (615) 740-4921and talk to Sgt 
David Cook, he will be glad to answer your questions and schedule your training.  
 

Frequently Asked Questions: 
I’ve completed my Handgun Safety Class, What’s my next step?  
If you want a Handgun Carry Permit you must make application at any full service Driver License Station 
in Tennessee.  
http://www.tn.gov/safety/driverlicense/dllocationserv.shtml  
 
You will need the following documents at the Driver License Station  
1. Certificate showing you have completed an eight (8) hour Handgun Safety Course, at an approved 
school.  
2. Proof of United States Citizenship or Lawful Permanent Residency. 
http://www.tn.gov/safety/driverlicense/dlcitizen.shtml  
3. Payment of $115.00 in cash, credit card, money order or certified check. (The Department of Safety 
will not take a personal check for an original Handgun Permit Application.)  
4. You will have your picture taken.  
 
Once the application process is complete the examiner will provide written instructions on fingerprint 
registration. You may either register on‐line or by telephone, when registering you will be required to 
schedule your appointment time and location.  
After fingerprint submittal, you simply wait for your permit to arrive in the mail. Please allow the State 
at least sixty (60) days before you check on the status of your application.  
Do not carry a handgun until your permit is in your possession. The permit will be issued for four (4) 
years; it is your responsibility to keep your address current with the Department of Safety. Renewal 
notices are mailed as a courtesy; however you are responsible for renewal before your permit expires.  

 
For more information on Handgun Carry Permits in Tennessee 

http://www.tn.gov/safety/handgunmain.shtml 



 

Warning: 

CAUTION! Please understand if you choose to wear your handgun (exposed) on the outside of 
your clothing YOU WILL BE STOPPED BY EVERY OFFICER THAT SEES YOU. The 
officers are only doing their job, so be sure to have your I.D. ready to show that you are legal. I 
would recommend that you conceal the weapon to avoid being checked out every time an officer 
sees you. 

Thank You 

Sheriff Jeff Bledsoe 
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